Honda Fit Forums  

Go Back   Honda Fit Forums > Fit Forums > Interior

Interior Topic related to ineterior, care, updgrades etc fit it in here...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2012, 02:47 AM
claymore's Avatar
claymore claymore is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Far side of the moon
Posts: 3,575
claymore is on a distinguished road
Default Anybody had their A/C recharged yet?

I know my car at 5 years old is a bit older than you USA members but I just realized that I need to run the A/C temp knob further into the blue (colder) than I used to. It works ok and is still cold.

So I began wondering if I needed to top up my A/C fluid and went looking for a sight gauge in the top of the dryer to check the level and found out there isn't one now a days. Wonder how you tell if it's low does one have to hook up refrigeration gauges or what?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2012, 07:52 PM
macbuddy's Avatar
macbuddy macbuddy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 545
macbuddy will become famous soon enoughmacbuddy will become famous soon enough
Default Evaporator Core?

I've had my GD3 since April 26, 2006, so my USDM GD3 is almost 6 years old. Anyway, my A/C is still blowing "icycles." I've only had one A/C issue. Mine shut down several times during a long 8 hour, Summer road trip. I later discovered that the problem was due to a filthy cabin filter.
If your A/C is still "blowing" freely, then I wonder if the fins on the evaporator core are coated with dust and what-not. If so, I wonder if that can easily be flushed out somehow(?). Anyway, whenever my refrigerator starts to act up, vacuuming out the fins seems to solve that problem.
I know I didn't answer your question, but thought I'd add my 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2012, 10:39 PM
claymore's Avatar
claymore claymore is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Far side of the moon
Posts: 3,575
claymore is on a distinguished road
Default

Mine works OK with frosty air but the only thing that concerned me was the need to turn it up father to get the same cold temps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2012, 07:33 AM
skittle's Avatar
skittle skittle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: the edge of the prairie
Posts: 86
skittle is on a distinguished road
Smile

Twenty plus years ago, it seemed like one had to "recharge" the air conditioner every season as the systems lost freon due to slow leaks and the relative inefficiencies of the compressors of the day. I suspect there is no sight glass anymore, and that you'd have to have gauges to find out if you are low on refrigerant.

Maybe the outside temperature is warmer and there is nothing wrong with your A/C.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2012, 07:41 AM
claymore's Avatar
claymore claymore is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Far side of the moon
Posts: 3,575
claymore is on a distinguished road
Default

Yep there is no longer a sight glass so you can't check the level of oil (A/C fluid) unless you have access to A/C pressure gauges.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.